DUI

A DUI CHARGE IS A CRIME, AND WE HAVE THE LEGAL EXPERTISE THAT ONLY A DUI LAWYER POSSESSES TO MAKE A SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE IN THE OUTCOME OF YOUR CASE.

MISSISSIPPI DUI AND DWI’S

In Mississippi, a DUI is a serious offense with harsh penalties due to threat of risking the lives of yourself as well as others. The repercussions you’ll face for driving under the influence of alcohol from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the court may consist of driver’s lisense revocations, jail time, and big fines. The penalties will depend on the severity of your DUI offense, your driving history, and if you have had prior DUI charges. You can be punished by the Department of Public Safety due to administrative law and the courts can use criminal law.

You will probably receive a DUI in Mississippi if you are arrested for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of At least 0.08%, if you are 21 and older. if you are younger than 21 years old, your bac would have to be at least 0.02%. Even though those are the legal BAC limits, you may still receive a DUI or alcohol-related driving offense for driving with a BAC that is below the legal limits. Your court will determine your penalties.

1st OFFENSE DUI

  • Administrative Penalties
  • Driver’s license suspension: Minimum of 90 days with completed MASEP.
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.
  • Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP) is required program for 1st time DUI offenders. You are allowed to enroll in the course after you recieve a non-adjucated or conviction for your 1st DUI. To enroll, call 662-325-3423. The MASEP program fee is $200.
  • Criminal Penalities
  • $250 to $1,000 fine.
  • 48 hours in jail.
  • A drivers license harship request fee: $50.

2nd OFFENSE DUI WITHIN 5 YEARS

  • Administrative Penalties
  • Driver’s license suspension: 2 years
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.
  • Criminal Penalities
  • $600 to $1,000 fine.
  • 1 to 5 years in jail.
  • 10 days to 1 year of community service.
  • Possible forfeiture of your vehicle.

3rd DUI OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE WITHIN 5 YEARS

  • Administrative Penalties
  • Driver’s license suspension: 5 years
  • License reinstatement fee: $175.
  • Ignition interlock for restricted driver’s license.
  • Financial responsibility (SR 22) filed for 3 years.
  • Criminal Penalities
  • $2,000 to $5,000 fine.
  • 1 to 5 years in prison.
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle.
  • The penalties increase for multiple DUIs and offenses involving accidents, injuries, and deaths.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!